Have I sinned wilfully?

That’s my question tonight. Look what it says in Hebrews 10:

Hold Fast Your Confession

19 Therefore, brethren, having boldness to enter the Holiest by the blood of Jesus, 20 by a new and living way which He consecrated for us, through the veil, that is, His flesh, 21 and having a High Priest over the house of God, 22 let us draw near with a true heart in full assurance of faith, having our hearts sprinkled from an evil conscience and our bodies washed with pure water. 23 Let us hold fast the confession of our hope without wavering, for He who promised is faithful. 24 And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works, 25 not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching.

There’s more…

The Just Live by Faith

26 For if we sin wilfully after we have received the knowledge of the truth, there no longer remains a sacrifice for sins, 27 but a certain fearful expectation of judgement, and fiery indignation which will devour the adversaries. 28 Anyone who has rejected Moses’ law dies without mercy on the testimony of two or three witnesses. 29 Of how much worse punishment, do you suppose, will he be thought worthy who has trampled the Son of God underfoot, counted the blood of the covenant by which he was sanctified a common thing, and insulted the Spirit of grace? 30 For we know Him who said, “Vengeance is Mine, I will repay,”[e] says the Lord.[f] And again, “The Lord will judge His people.”[g] 31 It is a fearful thing to fall into the hands of the living God.

Bible Gateway

I’m still going through videos where people insist they were Christians, but lost their faith. After reading this, and knowing of other Scriptures where we can have assurance of faith, and that none can be snatched from the Father’s, or the Lord Jesus’s hand; how is it then, that people say that’s exactly what happened to them? If they were kept by God, it wouldn’t have happened. He is able to keep us. He promises that to us who believe. If God makes such a promise, He isn’t going to fail to keep it. We do that! Make promises; some of which we keep; some of which we intend to keep, but other circumstances prevent us keeping them, or we make empty promises, hoping the person we’re speaking to feels a bit better that ‘someone cares’ for them. The last two of those are sinful.

None of us are protected from troublesome times. Jesus made it clear that in this world, we will have trouble. That’s the one thing which works extremely well, I’m afraid. That truth works way too well for my liking. It’s the gentle promises I don’t see enough of. I often feel reduced to beggar status when I keep asking for help with various things. Years later, that help still has not arrived. I think I might have found a solution, and, I’ll have to bring the thing to pass before I get it. That would either mean that if I had someone to talk about it with, I’d either be counselled that I was ‘stepping out in faith’, or that I was ‘putting myself before God and doomed to failure’. Sitting here asking and asking and asking isn’t working! I have to get up out of my chair and do certain things myself, therefore.

That’s just common sense! I won’t find fellowship, or a church unless I go out and look for one. That means getting my disability scooter ready for the road, a process I’ve already started, thank God. I hope I’ll find somewhere that doesn’t discriminate over disabled people’s needs, but if I don’t, I won’t be the only one who has faced that. I’ve already faced it once, so I don’t hold much hope that I won’t be bullied over the same thing again. That’s just stupid, and I can’t live with my head in a bubble. I’ve seen too much real life for that to happen again. I’ll have to face that again, and I’ll just have to deal with it better this time. How? I don’t know, but I’ll have to deal with it. In this world, we will have trouble. I must not repay evil for evil. So that’s how I have to deal with that situation.

I have been very spiritually upset in the last few weeks, and it hasn’t done me any good. I felt the spiritual depression easing away again last night, and I can only thank God it did. Now, hopefully, there’s room enough for me to take in some vital spiritual health food (my Bible!) and get to grips with the truth I already know, and what I need to continue nourishing my soul on.

We ALL need spiritual health food. The Bible is the only place we’re going to get it. Yes, I love listening to sermons; but reading God’s word myself is absolutely necessary. If I don’t bother, then sin creeps in, and heresy waits to catch me out. How am I going to discern the truth unless I know what it is? How will I know the truth unless I look for it?

Spiritual depression is deadly. If anyone reading this is suffering from it, I tell you the truth, as gently as I can – you are feeding yourself on poison. I speak from experience. Turn to God and grab your Bible. Read it. Start anywhere. Go to the gospels; go to John and read everything he wrote. Pray. Ask for forgiveness for any sin committed. If you have a church to go to, ask for the elders/pastor to pray with you, and/or, over you. Confess sin to people you trust. Pray for each other. Exhort each other about Christ’s forgiveness. Study that word forgiveness as soon as you can. It is available to all who ask for it. Once you’ve asked, make it your absolute need to follow and keep His commandments. Look up what they are, and do them. Exhort your loved ones in Christ to do the same. Pray for each other daily.

May the Lord keep us from falling. Amen.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faithfulness, Life, Look up, Love your neighbour as yourself, Prayer, The love of God, Truth, Warning, Watch and pray, Wisdom, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.