Why would anyone eventually give up hope?

Imagine it. Every so often, you get the local parish magazine delivered through your door. You notice now that there’s a particular group who write for every edition. The latest news was something I’ve already lived with, for which I’m still going through the disastrous after-effects, along with someone very close to me who I’ve known for many years. But don’t worry. It’s not just two of us; this sorrow covers the whole country. Probably the whole world, by now, so there’s no need for any pity.

The subject I recently read about ‘promised’ that certain people wouldn’t have to ‘cope alone’ with this problem, according to the writer, so I tested the theory, only to be met with the exact same response I got before, when I was going through it, which is why I could easily have been left with a death in my own home, completely isolated from the rest of the world. While that was a part of my life, the major holidays were only a few breaths away. (Christmas and new year). I won’t bore you with the advice I was given at that time if I had needed to deal with a death in the family.

Imagine it: you’ve lived with a particular event that has lasted year after year. You’ve had no help whatsoever. You’ve had empty promises heaped upon you. You’ve had your ears bent with platitudes day after day until you’re sick of them. You’ve been threatened by another institution, and,  the time eventually comes when you realise you should never have stepped into the floodlights and asked for anything. Ever. Hiding would have been a far safer bet, whether you and your loved one lived; died, or whatever happened to you.

The empty promise I heard before on many occasions is now given in print. So I decided to make the phone call and start asking questions. The person I spoke to said she had also joined this network of care providers and she received her badge the day I rang her.

“I’ve got mine as well. Now what do I do?” I asked. With which the lady looked up the subject online, only to divulge that there’s a website being built. Not ready to view yet, but hey, in about two months, it might be.

That’s still how it works if you’re a carer for a certain disease a family member might have, or, God help us – get in the future. It’s one of the worst sicknesses, not even mentioned in the Bible, and, believe me, unless you can afford better, you are still isolated and expected to do all the caring alone. I kid you not. There never will be any help for anyone unless there’s a crisis, and even then, you’ll be lucky if you do get help. I’ve tested what I needed to again and proved myself correct. Again. Asking for help in a crisis is the next big thing carers will be faced with; and asking will prove to be absolutely useless unless you can afford a better outcome than that. If you’re not made of money and don’t have the joy of being able to throw your earnings up your nose, or whatever; if you ain’t a rock star; TV star; royalty, or whatever – forget help. It ain’t coming. You need to be someone of ‘merit’ before you even get heard.

I guess that’s why God told us not to rely on man! I give up, therefore, in believing anything I either hear, or read, about this subject. I just hope to God I will be given the chance someday to stand beside someone else who’s going through the horror I went through. I’d love to help in any small way I can because it’s the only way help will ever come to anybody. It’s us who believe in Christ who should get our own hands dirty, instead of trying to simplify a crisis with a platitude. Meanwhile, I got my independence the hard way. I’ll keep it for now. It’s safer that way.

Oh, by the way – it might help to read chapter 25 of Matthew’s gospel. It might just stop our hearts from breaking. Give us a reason to obey the Lord in these desperate times.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in The love of God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.