A serious business

Many people were all over the comment boxes everywhere when I, Daniel Blake first came to our attention, last year.

That link I’ve just made will take you to a news item about the DWP (Department for Work and Pensions) and the trouble people have in declaring their needs if they are disabled. There are some real horror stories out there, and I have no cause to disbelieve what people are saying.

Many people have lost their mobility transport; other people have died waiting for their claims and assessments to be processed. I’ve been through this latest system and I can tell you, it’s rather daunting to someone who just got through living with a dementia sufferer with absolutely no support, medically or otherwise, for the first six and a half years the person was ill.

I’m disabled myself, but that won’t get you support. If there’s anything for me to complain about, that’s it. The complete and utter supportless health system we have in this country. People think it started with the Tories? Nonsense. It all began much, much longer ago than that. If there’s anything for me to complain about, that’s where I’d begin.

But hey, that’s another story, ain’t it! Before too long, we won’t have an NHS, and those of us who suddenly need health support can probably go and do one, as people keep saying! (Never did find out what that actually means, but there ya go). It’s life, Jim/But not as we know it…

So. What’s UP with the welfare system? Well, from the looks of it, it’s just as broken as so many other things are in this country. Yes. I’ve been through it. No, I had no real support, but I managed to get through it because most of the people I had to deal with were intelligent, compassionate people. Some were not, but that’s the nature of the job. You have to keep up appearances in Job Centres and other governmental institutions. If you show too much leniency, I suppose you could be for the high jump.

I’m gong to make a list of some of the things us disabled lot have to do to prove our disability. I will also give one or two examples of the work an adviser does. Since this will probably be long enough for it to turn into a mini-series, I’ll do the next one tomorrow!

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Life, The love of God and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.