Trials, and false promises

Back in 2009, I got saved. It was a time of searching about the sin against the Holy Spirit after Mum read me a Scripture that same day. I keep thinking she read something out of Matthew’s gospel, but I never kept hold of what she said, so can’t set that in stone.

Get my Mum: she’s believed in the Lord Jesus Christ since the early 1980s. She set herself up as the family priest, as there was no father figure to be our spiritual leader. I know there was a lot of resentment over that, which hasn’t gone away. In fact, even I, still, can’t take that preaching attitude. In those days, I was in dreadful circumstances myself, and the way religion was being put over to me was not the Biblical way of doing things.

I’m sorry, but it just wasn’t.

Here’s something Christ Himself said. He said: “The world will know you are My disciples because of the love you have for each other.” (Read John 13:34-35).

You get from this that Jesus was talking about His Own people, not those who didn’t know Him, or care to know Him at that time. A Christian’s love for other Christians was supposed to show outsiders that love, as Christ ordered it, worked.

Trouble is, the Lord has given His truths to fallible human beings. That doesn’t make His word any less true – what it DOES do is to set one person against another, because as we are weak; if we do actually know the Lord, He confirms our relationship with Him by giving us His Holy Spirit. If you don’t have the Lord’s Spirit working within you, you are going to resent being preached at. End of. Here’s another thing Jesus said: “For I have come to turn “‘a man against his father, a daughter against her mother, a daughter-in-law against her mother-in-law…”

Okay. Now just what do we think that statement means? It means trouble, matey! If you have faith to move mountains, don’t think your other family members do! They don’t yet, because they have not heard the call of God. They might have heard Scripture being read to them. They may have heard a parent’s preaching, but they have not yet heard the call of God. That causes dissention. Anger and resentment follow if you keep pounding on a door that won’t open. You know the eternal lives of your children are at stake if they don’t hear, but it takes God’s Spirit to draw that person to belief and faith.

Let me tell you something: It took me 47 years to hear that call. I was a downright dog before I knew the Lord. The years following my release from the devil’s prison have been the hardest I’ve ever lived. I have not seen that love between disciples which Christ spoke of. I have seen how Christianity has gone down the pan with the lies which are being preached; the platitudes and empty promises people throw at each other; I have heard a story where a married couple went to church one day and that same afternoon, after returning home, the man shot his wife, then himself.

Lord, that is desPAIR. (Shock. Horror). It’s true folks. Whatever those two were suffering together, they ended up not being able to handle it, and it was the man who fell first. And we expect our men to be the strength of the family? God help us folks, but men are just as human as we women. Do NOT trifle with a man’s life. God may make you responsible for it if you do. If he needs support: GIVE IT. Do NOT throw platitudes and empty promises at him. Give of your time, and any other support you are prompted to do. Even if it’s walking the dog. For crying out loud, DO something.

I was reading a page this morning, and gave a response to what I’d read:

“I wish I could share a link with you about what I wrote on this very subject. I’m still in the spin that started in 2009. It has not gone away, and I know it never will. Don’t call that a lack of faith, it isn’t. It’s the truth I know as I’m living it.

I won’t bang on about what happened. Here is not the place, but I do know about the platitudes, the people who call themselves Christians who abandoned my husband and I in our need. They’re all right, and thank God they’re all right. I’m close to being housebound, now, so have to fight through that and try to get some sort of transport together so I can try and find fellowship and a church. I know it won’t come to me.

My disabled Mother was the only one who cared enough to visit from a long way away to share a few days with me once a year. It is hard work for the poor woman to do that. She’s been through four major operations and still delights in the Lord. Her faith is amazing. But she is disabled, and, like me, can’t do very much. She also lives alone and has no Christian fellowship. Hasn’t had for many years. So what’s with the platitudes? Where did that all come from? Reminds me of the bit where Christ talks about if a son asks for bread, will he be given a stone, or if he asks for a fish will he be given a snake? I’ve had both. Many times over, so yeah! We won’t be given more than we can handle? Load of nonsense. Loved this page and hope somehow you guys have come through at least some of your pain.”

That was my response after reading this: (Hint…you need to click that link!)

This, along with the ravages of not knowing the Scriptures, and so, screwing up the prophecies which we find scattered throughout the Bible, and especially within Revelation and the prophets is frightening. That’s what I’ve seen the most.

Platitudes. God is stronger than our problems. Look folks, I’ve had it with this talk. Hear me, those of you who will, or not, if you won’t, but Christ promised terrible things as well as blessings. Get into the gospels and read everything. I know we all love Matthew 24; Luke 21 and Mark 13, but have you ever recently thought about the word’betrayal’? As Christians, we’re ripe fruit for the picking, folks. I know you don’t like it, but that’s just tough. Christ told us to count the cost of discipleship. So get real. Stop being hypocrites and know for starters that we are told this: If we confess Him before men; He will confess us before the Father and the Holy angels. Why do you think that is?

I’ll tell you in the next part, along with what the Lord warned about betrayal?

Heart in yer mouth yet? Well, if I’ve been put here to preach, I’m only gonna preach what the Lord warned. I’m sick of all the nonsense. “Non Sense. No sense in what we are hearing these days. Translate that into non Biblical and you hear a little of why I am sick to death of the false preaching that’s become all too prominent. You want last days stuff? Just remember, you are ripe for being lied to if you are not on your guard.

See ya later.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Foolishness, Idolatry, Mark of the beast, Persecution, Preacher of righteousness, The love of God, Truth, Warning, Watch and pray, Wisdom, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

