Goodness me – He’s done it again…

Luke 21:34-36

34 “But take heed to yourselves, lest your hearts be weighed down with carousing, drunkenness, and cares of this life, and that Day come on you unexpectedly. 35 For it will come as a snare on all those who dwell on the face of the whole earth. 36 Watch therefore, and pray always that you may be counted worthy[c] to escape all these things that will come to pass, and to stand before the Son of Man.”

I was just reading through this just now and the context hit me like it never has before. What are we to pray for? That we are not caught up in what was previously stated – carousing, drunkenness, and cares of this life! If we are, then we will NOT be ready when the Lord returns, and that Day will come upon us as a snare, like it will, anyone else in the world.

We are supposed to be salt and light. That’s hardly likely if we’re doing the same as everyone around us. I know life is hard, folks, but God forgive us if we’ve forgotten this part of Scripture. There ought to be far more teaching on these important snippets of God’s word than there are. I know you can preach the “blood and thunder” method, (and oh boy, haven’t I heard loads of it!) but it really doesn’t get the message across, I don’t think.

People think they’re being clever if they come out like a fighting bull in the pulpit. It really doesn’t work that way when Scripture says we ought to be gentle with everyone. Just making sure that we remember the most important things is what is needed. Praying that we won’t be caught up in the things Christ spoke about here is the correct interpretation of these words of Scripture. Thank You for showing me that one, Father.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
Quote | This entry was posted in Faithfulness, The love of God, Truth, Warning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.