Praise report 4

Listen to me, part four

I need answers, Lord!

Ever prayed Abraham’s prayer?

Abraham Prays for Sodom

16 When the three men got ready to leave, they looked down toward Sodom, and Abraham walked part of the way with them.

17 The Lord said to himself, “I should tell Abraham what I am going to do, 18 since his family will become a great and powerful nation that will be a blessing to all other nations on earth.[a]19 I have chosen him to teach his family to obey me forever and to do what is right and fair. Then I will give Abraham many descendants, just as I promised.”

20 The Lord said, “Abraham, I have heard that the people of Sodom and Gomorrah are doing all kinds of evil things. 21 Now I am going down to see for myself if those people really are that bad. If they aren’t, I want to know about it.”

22 The men turned and started toward Sodom. But the Lord stayed with Abraham, 23 who asked, “Lord, when you destroy the evil people, are you also going to destroy those who are good? 24 Wouldn’t you spare the city if there are only fifty good people in it? 25 You surely wouldn’t let them be killed when you destroy the evil ones. You are the judge of all the earth, and you do what is right.”

26 The Lord replied, “If I find fifty good people in Sodom, I will save the city to keep them from being killed.”

27 Abraham answered, “I am nothing more than the dust of the earth. Please forgive me, Lord, for daring to speak to you like this. 28 But suppose there are only forty-five good people in Sodom. Would you still wipe out the whole city?”

“If I find forty-five good people,” the Lord replied, “I won’t destroy the city.”

29 “Suppose there are just forty good people?” Abraham asked.

“Even for them,” the Lord replied, “I won’t destroy the city.”

30 Abraham said, “Please don’t be angry, Lord, if I ask you what you will do if there are only thirty good people in the city.”

“If I find thirty,” the Lord replied, “I still won’t destroy it.”

31 Then Abraham said, “I don’t have any right to ask you, Lord, but what would you do if you find only twenty?”

“Because of them, I won’t destroy the city,” was the Lord’s answer.

32 Finally, Abraham said, “Please don’t get angry, Lord, if I speak just once more. Suppose you find only ten good people there.”

“For the sake of ten good people,” the Lord told him, “I still won’t destroy the city.”

33 After speaking with Abraham, the Lord left, and Abraham went back home. (Genesis 18:16-33)

What’s that got to do with me? Well, when I was caring for my husband and went looking for help to know how to care; I was sent people who were everything BUT helpful.

Seriously. I was virtually called a liar in my own home. I was promised all kinds of help after that which never came. I was asked to invite a disabled woman in a wheelchair into my home to discuss things while my husband was showing violence due to his illness. I would never have been able to care for her with my own serious health condition.

I was threatened by the police when I went to them for help. Another time, when I told another officer why my husband had called the police to report a theft of something we never, ever possessed, I was told not to call them for help while she was on duty! Honestly, you couldn’t make it up.

After spending the first few years with this kind of comeback, you start seriously reconsidering what you’ve walked into. You start questioning. You start asking, like Abraham did, surely You wouldn’t treat the saved like the lost! I did. That’s exactly what I said in prayer. And, as time moved along and things went seriously downhill, I saw there was nothing I could do about any of it, and that nobody else was going to do anything to help, either.

I saw no distinction, therefore, between the saved and the lost. We looked like we were all tarred with the same brush. That’s what needs untangling here. It will be. Just be patient. The Lord is mighty. He is good. He is never at fault. Do you hear me? He is never at fault.

We are the ones who need to trust Him. We live in a dark, dark world, folks. We need to know what it’s like to live in that darkness so that we can help others to look to the light. If we are the light of the world and the salt of the earth, we need experience. If that experience comes with suffering, then so be it. We have a heavenly Father Who will never leave or forsake us. That takes some believing, these days. He will not suffer His children to stop trusting. He may have to put us through the fire to get our attention. I’ve been in it, and now, have been greatly delivered. I still don’t know what’s before me, but things are better than they were even a fortnight ago. It’s a learning process. Abraham prayed a scary prayer. Can we pray like that for ourselves, and for others?

Do we dare to pray like Abraham did? Remember this verse:

22 The men turned and started toward Sodom. But the Lord stayed with Abraham, 23 who asked, “Lord, when you destroy the evil people, are you also going to destroy those who are good? 24 Wouldn’t you spare the city if there are only fifty good people in it? 25 You surely wouldn’t let them be killed when you destroy the evil ones. You are the judge of all the earth, and you do what is right.”

Do we dare to pray like that? I was convinced I was set to watch my own destruction because of what happened. I was absolutely convinced I would be destroyed. Living with what I did whilst being abandoned to it is one of the cruellest things that can happen to a person. It’s very, very cruel. You have to have a strong God to get through that. Notice, I did not say we have to be strong, but that we need a strong God to cover us while walking through the hell of that kind of fire.

Remember Daniel in the lion’s den. Remember Shadrach; Meshach and Abednego who were all thrown into the furnace. Who saved them, folks? Has he changed? Is He different today than He was yesterday?

Pardon me if I give this comment which goes: Don’t be ridiculous!

More to follow.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Prayer, The love of God and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

