Make good

The Parable of the Bags of Gold

14 “Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his wealth to them. 15 To one he gave five bags of gold, to another two bags, and to another one bag,[a] each according to his ability. Then he went on his journey. 16 The man who had received five bags of gold went at once and put his money to work and gained five bags more. 17 So also, the one with two bags of gold gained two more. 18 But the man who had received one bag went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

19 “After a long time the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them.20 The man who had received five bags of gold brought the other five. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with five bags of gold. See, I have gained five more.’

21 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

22 “The man with two bags of gold also came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘you entrusted me with two bags of gold; see, I have gained two more.’

23 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

24 “Then the man who had received one bag of gold came. ‘Master,’ he said, ‘I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed. 25 So I was afraid and went out and hid your gold in the ground. See, here is what belongs to you.’

26 “His master replied, ‘You wicked, lazy servant! So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed? 27 Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

28 “‘So take the bag of gold from him and give it to the one who has ten bags. 29 For whoever has will be given more, and they will have an abundance. Whoever does not have, even what they have will be taken from them. 30 And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

I’ve just read through this and found something out. The Lord has laid on my heart the truth of these words. In all that was given to each of these servants, they were ALL entrusted with certain good works.

Even the one who was given one bag of gold, or the one talent was entrusted with it. The parable of the bags of gold here, as entitled, is the parable of the talents. It’s the same parable, whatever title you want to give it.

The Master, (Christ), gives us certain abilities. We are to take whatever we are given and use it for His glory to further His kingdom. If we say that we believe, yet we do nothing for the kingdom – be warned – we will end up like that unprofitable servant. It’s that bit in Revelation where cowards are listed as being those who will not enter the kingdom.

That servant was also entrusted with one bag of gold, or one talent, I say again, was entrusted with it. Whatever amount a talent signifies is not the issue. I know people like to reckon it up and preach on it. But that is not the issue. The issue we should be concerned about is that all three servants – even the one with one talent, or bag of gold were ENTRUSTED with them, and were to use their gifts in furthering the kingdom. Spreading the truth. If you don’t do it, you are robbing God. If I don’t do it, I am robbing God.

Folks, we have been entrusted with the Gospel. Not only do we ask for salvation for ourselves, but we are warned in Scripture not to hide our light. Looking back in the earlier chapters of Matthew, we see something else: Matthew 5 links up with Matthew 25 extremely well. I believe it is meant to. When the Lord tells us in Matthew 5 that we should not ‘hide our light’; for me, it’s exactly the same as the parable of the talents.

We ought to be warned about these things. Do you see the similarity?

Matthew 5:13-16 gives us a bit more of a look into the parable of the talents. This is what it’s talking about. We are given certain good works to perform. We cannot turn away from what we have been entrusted with. Surely, that would be treason?

One good pastor has preached that we have to learn to talk like the Bible talks. Well, my eyes have been opened again today.

(Scriptures taken from biblegateway.com, and biblehub.com)

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faithfulness, Foolishness and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Make good

  1. realchange4u says:

    I really can appreciate the way you put all this together. I believe the Lord is constantly stirring the hearts of those that will take the gospel to the lost. All of us sinners and Saint alike have gifts that the Lord has created us with. If only we would draw closer to
    The Lord so we! Might find these gifts and what God created is to do. So many never find out that only in doing what God created is to do will ever fulfill us. There is a great pleasure in glorifying God through the gifts he had given us. Thank you for pointing these Scriptures out to us.

    Blessings to you

    the Lord

  2. tellthetruth1 says:

    Hello Tom. He certainly stirred mine. After reading those Scriptures; it was put upon my heart to write this so that I’d have it kept as evidence of the Lord’s message. It’s another way I test my own faith. I see so many arguments and anger in so-called religion these days. Jesus warned that there would be those who betray and end up hating each other. We’re there. Many would grow cold because of the abundance of wickedness around us. We’re there, Tom. That’s the world we all live in, now. Fighting back against it is getting so hard. May He Who saved us keep us faithful, for He has promised He will.

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

