The Virtues of the Ten Virgins, Part 2

This sort of thing always stops me in my tracks. Currently, I’m living in such a dire situation that I need Christ’s teaching more and more. He says He will never leave or forsake us, and that nothing in all creation can snatch us from His hands. I’m gripping those promises with everything I’ve got to grip with. Meanwhile, this teaching…

Learning To Be Full Of Grace And Truth.

In yesterday’s post we started looking at Jesus’ Parable of the Ten Virgins, in Matthew 25:1-13. It is one of several illustrations Jesus told in answer to His disciples’ question in Matthew 24:3 (NIV) “Tell us,” they said, “when will this happen, and what will be the sign of your coming and of the end of the age?” Jesus does not really give the specifics of that Day, rather He focuses on telling them to be prepared and ready for it when it comes. Therefore keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour (Matthew 25:13, NIV).

To make His point, He tells this parable using a wedding for the illustration. Jewish custom was that the groom would come to the bride’s house at night with the ancient equivalent of his groomsmen. The bridesmaids would stand about her house when they saw him coming and light the…

View original post 1,144 more words

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in The love of God. Bookmark the permalink.