We are here to give glory to God

I’m reading some very deep things at the moment. In Matthew 12, I found something that struck home. (I love it when this happens!) The bit I am reading is from verses 43-45, talking about impure spirits. This comes a little while after the rebuke from Jesus towards His questioners about how He drove out demons, and the accusations made against Him. (Read verses 24-37).

From there, I also looked up another passage, as this one in Matthew 12 got me praying: “Lord – how can anyone have nothing in him? There must either be a spirit of impurity, or, if the man is Yours, then he has Your Spirit. Can someone actually be empty of either?” Not the exact words of what I asked, but you get my drift. I wonder if the word ‘indifference’ connects my thinking? We can have either good or bad happen, and be completely closed, emotionally, or write everything off with a cliché. Wouldn’t that be a generalised indifference?

This came from reading verses 43-45 in this passage. So I then went to John 5. In verses 14 & 15, Jesus rebukes the man who was made well. The one who laid at the Pool of Bethsaida. “Stop sinning!” Christ tells the man, “or something worse may come upon you.”

The man had been ill for 38 years and was always to be found laying near the pool. He never made it into the water. Then the Lord comes and asks him to explain his predicament, which the man does. After he is cured by Jesus, he is found carrying his mat by the Teachers of the Law, who then turn on him and rebuke him for doing such a thing on the Sabbath. To which the man replies, after he is asked who cured him that he didn’t know. It’s after this that Jesus finds him again at the temple, just after he’s spoken to the religious leaders, and gets Christ’s rebuke! I’m reminded here that even if we do not know who gave the blessing, we could at least thank God for whatever it might have been. Remember the ten lepers, and only one gave thanks? The one who thanked God wasn’t even Jewish. That mattered to Jesus.

It teaches me this: Never take a blessing for granted. Always give thanks and give a witness that God was merciful. Of course, it goes far deeper than that. I’d love someone to preach a sermon on Matthew 12 and John 5.

Anyone up for it? I’m still working on what I’ve read!

Glory to God

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Faithfulness, Thanksgiving, Worship and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We are here to give glory to God

  1. Glory to God, tellthetruth1! Let’s be the one leper – it’s clear, you want to be, because of what you’re doing. I forget to thank Him and even forget I prayed. Sheep need to stay awake and alert!

    I think that there is no being neutral – we’re for or against the Lord, can’t just make light of His demands with worldly cliches. He did tell the pharisees that “He that is not with me is against me; and he that gathereth not with me scattereth abroad.” (Matt. 12:30)

    About the house from which the spirit departed, this must be the Jewish people of his day (or anyone like them), who received SO MUCH GRACE without gratitude and were worse after the wonderful ministry of John in preparing them, and of Jesus their God and Saviour in saving them. (“Even so shall it be also unto this wicked generation.” Matthew 12:45)

    Thank you for digging deeper. I need to. Comparing Scripture with Scripture, what you’ve done, is a truly good thing!
    Maria

  2. tellthetruth1 says:

    Very interesting response about the house and the spirits, although I took those verses today along what I felt I was being shown, all the way through.

    You remind me of: “Oh Jerusalem, Jerusalem! How I longed to gather you under my wings as a hen would gather its chicks, but you would not (come?)

    I love it. I’m so excited of being reminded of these things. I could talk about the Lord all day and night! Go on, get me started, get me started, haha! 😀

  3. What a blessing! Your attitude is wonderful, tellthetruth1. I’m about out of responses – going to watch tv, please don’t report me on that!:)

  4. tellthetruth1 says:

    Haha! Hope it’s edifying and relaxing. Me? It’s about time I crawled off to bed, mate! God be with you, xx

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

