How Church once was…

Read Matthew 10.

This is telling us about how Christ sent His disciples out to the lost sheep of Israel. In those days, they were commanded not to go to the Gentiles or the Samaritans, but only then to the lost sheep of Israel.

To the Jew, first. Then to the Greek, or Gentile, as we understand things today. (Romans 1:16)

I’ve just been reading another post from Mike Ratliff, which is below this one. We are warned heavily to be aware of false teachers. They are so evident today. I’ve seen a world of error being taught, all the time I’ve been a believer, and it’s been hard to trawl through.

Testing the spirits, as Mike showed us is a daily thing we should all indulge in. Not every spirit is worthy to be heard or followed.

When you read Christ’s commandments to His disciples in Matthew 10, many things stand out. The command not to prepare themselves in any way for their journey gives me the impression that they were to rely fully upon their Lord. Jesus told them: “A worker is worthy of his hire,” meaning that if they and their message were welcomed, they would expect to be provided for.. Shelter and food are needed, daily. These would have been provided, as far as I’m aware when reading.

But look at what they were to do: If, upon telling the message to a household, if they found that household ‘worthy’ their peace, offered in Christ would rest upon it. If the household was found to be unworthy, as Christ put it; then their peace would “return to them”.

They were all given authority to cleanse lepers, cast out evil spirits, heal the sick and raise the dead. Preaching the message; if a town held them in scorn, they were to shake the dust off their feet as a testimony against that town. Christ’s warning here comes in hard: “15Truly I tell you, it will be more bearable for Sodom and Gomorrah on the day of judgment than for that town.”

In the last few years, I’ve watched many people approach the way of evangelism. I have not seen anyone doing what these Scriptures taught those first disciples. No warnings are given, and sometimes, there seems to be a set script to try and get the message across to people. “Jesus loves you” is one of the most prominent. I have to tell you: No, He doesn’t. There are those who, because of unbelief, are still under his wrath. They are called “children of wrath” in the Scriptures. Ephesians 2:3. We, who now believe, once were such as these who are still in rebellion.

Everybody wants to know a ‘god’ and a ‘jesus’ who “loves” them! Of course they do. But eternally, that message will not work, for people have to be drawn to God if they are to know Him. The Gospel has to be preached.The one handed down to the saints. Jude 3. God Himself will open the ears of those who are to hear. The ones who have been known from before the foundation of the world: Ephesians 1:4. God alone knows who are His: 2 Timothy 2:19.

I’ve asked the Lord this morning, whether people are still given authority over evil as in those days when He walked this earth? The Disciples/Apostles had it. If it is here still, then the rest of Matthew 10’s teachings will follow. Surely, it’ll come naturally?

Time and truth are of the essence today.  I watch and wait to see what happens with my prayer.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faithfulness, Truth, Wisdom and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.