Seeking After Christ, Part 2

What lovely and powerful encouragement.

Learning To Be Full Of Grace And Truth.

Tuesdays with Edwards!

120914_1719_SeekingAfte1.png

Two hundred seventy four years ago this month, Jonathan Edwards preached a sermon on the wise men following the star to find Jesus in Bethlehem focusing on Matthew 2:10. If you missed it, the first part of this sermon is posted here.

In the second section of this sermon, Edwards asserts that the main point or doctrine that Matthew 2:10 teaches is that “when those that have been earnestly seeking Christ come to find him, [they] have reason to rejoice with exceeding great joy.” He unpacks this by giving five reasons why this is so:

  1. That Christ is the most “excellent and lovely” person that there is.
  2. That when you find Him, you find Him ready and willing to receive you.
  3. That His deliverance is total and complete.
  4. That His grace is unassailable, so His deliverance is assured.
  5. That His grace never stops giving and supplying…

View original post 1,637 more words

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in The love of God. Bookmark the permalink.