I was thinking…

Listening to a sermon earlier, the words: “It doesn’t matter how much or how badly you’ve sinned. Christ covers it all.” All right, maybe not those exact words, but the general idea is there.

Now, I know He forgives the genuine person, but something just wasn’t sitting quite right…

While I was listening, I suddenly had to stop, because more Scripture headed for my mind: “Without holiness, no one shall see the Lord.”

I think that means NO ONE, just as it’s given in the Bible. Food for thought, eh?

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Truth, Warning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I was thinking…

  1. Hello, Jen. And may I add a thought? Since not one of us is ever 100% holy, the only real holiness we have is Jesus standing in our place and becoming our holiness. He was/is The Sacrifice in our stead.

  2. tellthetruth1 says:

    I agree, Levi. It’s just while this guy was talking, what he was saying just didn’t sit quite right with me, as there was no reminder that the Scriptures are still as rigid as they were in the Old Testament. It does matter how much we sin, and we’re warned in too many places that if our lives don’t change, we won’t make it.

  3. Hi, Jen! Levi is right about Jesus being our righteousness – we are completely lost without His gift of righteousness. But about this speaker: if he meant that we can sin as much as we want to and this is okay with the Lord – He will forgive us every time – then he is wrong. If he meant that you can be the greatest of sinners and be saved, or fall as a child of God which we all do, then he is right. I believe that he either expressed his thoughts badly or he’s wrong. 1 John tells us that we cannot remain in sin, that the life of the Lord within us won’t allow us to.
    Lord bless you and your hubby,
    Maria

  4. tellthetruth1 says:

    That’s very well explained, Maria. I’m a stickler for truth as there’s so much garbage being taught. It’s like trading on broken glass, trying to get at the truth, a lot of the time!

    I just want to be holy.

    Reminds me of a question someone asked the Lord: “Who, then, can be saved?” The Lord replied: “With men, it’s impossible, but with God, all things are possible.” Thank God for those words, or I would have ‘copped it’ a long time ago.

  5. I know what you are talking about. Grace is not a license to sin and if we look at it like that then we don’t properly understand grace. Lord bless you!!!

  6. I understand. The Lord knows those who are His own! He knows that you want to follow Him and share in His holiness, and be ready. He knows all of this.

  7. tellthetruth1 says:

    That’s a comfort, Maria. I just wish I could somehow get it right. Not by works, but by grace. But because He’s commanded us to live well, in so many different ways, it just makes me want to live that way. Hmmm…wish I could be better…

  8. tellthetruth1 says:

    Aww, Levi. You’re SUCH a comfort to me, my dear Brother in the Lord.

Comments are closed.