What is truth?

“What is truth?” Pilate asked that of Christ.

Yesterday; rather, last night, there was someone I was responding to, on another blog’s comment thread, who calls what we believe to be a death cult. Ooh. Dangerous.

Reading the Old Testament and not having understanding from the Holy Spirit would likely cause this response.

After spending some time on someone’s blog, debating with this other person, I soon realised my efforts were nothing but a waste of time. Here’s why:

18 The message of the cross is foolishness to those who are being destroyed. But it is the power of God for those of us who are being saved. 19 It is written in scripture: I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and I will reject the intelligence of the intelligent.[a] 20 Where are the wise? Where are the legal experts? Where are today’s debaters? Hasn’t God made the wisdom of the world foolish? 21 In God’s wisdom, he determined that the world wouldn’t come to know him through its wisdom. Instead, God was pleased to save those who believe through the foolishness of preaching. 22 Jews ask for signs, and Greeks look for wisdom, 23 but we preach Christ crucified, which is a scandal to Jews and foolishness to Gentiles.24 But to those who are called—both Jews and Greeks—Christ is God’s power and God’s wisdom. 25 This is because the foolishness of God is wiser than human wisdom, and the weakness of God is stronger than human strength. (From 1 Corinthians 1)

There are Christians who love to debate. Debating the truth only ever makes me itch. I know in Whom I have believed…2 Timothy 1:12.

There’s an awful lot of people who hate the Lord. Really. And the things they say are really not for our ears. Except we have the faith of the likes of the Apostles, and the knowledge of Scripture, we will fall and fail when we come across those who love to mock. If we don’t have this faith and wisdom, how will we witness effectively?

Wise as serpents, and gentle as doves should master our responses. If there is no good outcome to be seen, do not throw what is holy to the dogs, and do not cast your pearls before swine.

That’s hard, folks, but it’s in Scripture. Be wise.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faithfulness, Persecution, Preacher of righteousness, Wisdom and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.