Christianity in England

Another source of trouble for me is my Mum. She’s been a believer for three decades. For the first few years of her Faith life, she had somewhere to fellowship. She attended various churches and had someone to drive her to wherever they were going.

I don’t know how long she had Christians to spend time with, but eventually, everyone dropped off. Some died, others moved away, still others refused contact.

We all know about the church of England. I have a place in my village. Mum has a building in hers. Her village also once sported a Methodist chapel, which was eventually turned into a private house.

What happened there?

Neither Mum or I EVER see those from this so-called church of England. If they call themselves a church, why are they not active in the villages, spreading the Gospel and seeking out other believers? Why are believers who want church fellowship being forced to disobey Hebrews 10, “especially as we see the Day approaching”?

I’m sorry folks, but this sort of thing really winds me up.

Mum says, these days that she never hears the bells ring any more from that church. Now, I know we all berate the Catholics and Anglicans for bad doctrine, but one thing used to be standard: The bells would ALWAYS ring to call the faithful to church.

Now, no bells, either?

Funny thing, but I haven’t heard those in my village ring for a while. It’s standard that they ring on Wednesdays and Fridays. Suddenly, tonight, after a bit of rain, I’m hearing them loudly! Are the ones in Mum’s village needing repairs? Does the wind never blow in the right direction so she can catch the sound of the bells?

Dunno. I don’t live there.

Also, she’s been alone now for so many years that on the phone, (she doesn’t believe this), but I am telling you that she even faked a couple of miracles. I commend her for thanking God for these so-called miracles, but it’s obvious, when you hear the story that she lost certain items because she doesn’t see well. It was only upon closer inspection that the items were found.

No ‘angel’ dropped these things through her door. But being alone and abandoned, especially when you are old, leaves a person very spiritually vulnerable.

God help me. Am I also going to fake miracles if I get old? I doubt that’ll actually happen where I’m concerned. (Getting old!) But we are both living in a spiritual vacuum. How tragic that she needs her television so she can ‘fellowship’ with the people she sees on whatever ‘christian’ tv channel she’s watching.

Pray for England, folks. If Christ told us He wouldn’t leave us orphans, then what the hell has happened?

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Judgement and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Christianity in England

  1. paulfg says:

    “No ‘angel’ dropped these things through her door.”
    Just rolled this thought around … wondering if a miracle needs to achieve a “certain something” before it counts. Not sure it does or should. Some of my greatest miracles received would probably be a “really????” to someone else.

  2. tellthetruth1 says:

    Paul, anyone who knows their Bible can tell the difference between a miracle from a story. Life here, when you live out in the sticks without transport leaves you without the ability to get to a Biblical church, should there be one anywhere. They’re becoming rare.

    I always found it a cold, hard thing to sit indoors, alone, with only tapes or telly/radio for Christian ‘company’, but it’s been like that for so long with Mum that she now considers it normal.

    It’s not normal, Paul, it’s cold, dark and tragic.

    With only TV evangelists to listen to, who preach nothing like our dear Paul Washer or Tim Conway; the woman is left believing in all kinds of rubbish. I’m horrified at some of the stuff she comes out with on the phone, and I can’t take the truth to her as she’ll only get angry every time. She WANTS to believe in such things as the runaway theory (rapture), and such other heresies. I hate it on her behalf as that kind of teaching is doing exactly the opposite of what Paul taught, which was to stand firm in the face of persecution.

    When I heard her poor, vulnerable version of how she found something she’d lost, I wanted to cry. She’s 80/81 years old, been through four major operations, lives alone and is physically and spiritually vulnerable. The only thing that keeps her going is her telly, and now, again, it doesn’t work. I can’t get to her, I live alone with dementia in my husband and am 30 miles away from Mum. It sucks, mate. I’m so sick and tired of how people just don’t care for each other any more. And if I keep going on to tell you what happened to me almost five years ago, it would spoil my morning! The sun is shining, and I fancy smiling.

  3. The Gospel is definitely not wide spread in the UK from what I read. It is also diminishing in the US as well. I understand that in the East is where it is flourishing. Thank God for the internet and pockets where the Gospel still rings true. Lord bless you!!! 🙂

  4. tellthetruth1 says:

    If there was no Internet, I’d have nothing except books. No contact with anyone means exactly that, Levi.

    There ARE places of ‘worship’, but you can either choose from something close to Roman Catholicism; or a rock concert, where I live.

    The bloke who used to stand in the local pulpit was actually ASHAMED and embarrassed to speak of Christ, out in the street. I don’t know who works there now as he’s retired. When I was a kid, we were taken to the local Mormon place; Mum used to read us the Christmas story at Christmas. Spiritually, for 52 years, life has been nothing but confusion. I read stuff in the Bible that I never actually see happening. ‘Church’, or not.

    I read the various prophecies concerning what will happen towards the end, and they all seem to be being fulfilled. At least Christ warned us all. God spare us!

Comments are closed.