The light has shone where it once was dark

If we seek  truth, we will be given truth. If we look for wisdom, the Lord promises to give it to us. (James 1:5).

Today, I’ve got a rather long reading session in 2 Kings. Chapter 17 gives an awful lot of information about certain kings and other people. The focus of the chapter seems to be on what was worshipped.

It wasn’t God.

Various names are given of the ‘gods’ that various folk used to worship, and Israel was dealt a blow as they were removed from their land, and put elsewhere.

In the meantime, Judah is spoken about in verses 18 and 19. I thought that was very significant, as, you’ll probably know: Christ is hailed as the lion of the tribe of Judah, which makes His sacrifice, at least to me, all the more significant.

The Scriptures tell us that Christ was numbered with the transgressors (Isaiah 53:12; Luke 22:37). This is true, far more than we actually look into.

Also, it occurred to me that the warnings God gave, time after time not to worship useless idols that can’t see, speak or walk, but only to worship Him, were screaming out another truth: that those in the end who worship the ‘beast’ will be forced to do that, and this will show whose mark they carry.

Thank You, Father God, for opening my eyes to this. Please make it significant to those whom You have called. Amen.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Bible, Faithfulness, Mark of the beast, Praise, Preacher of righteousness, Thanksgiving, The love of God, Truth, Wisdom, Worship and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.