Running the race

Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one receives the prize? So run that you may obtain it. Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable. So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. But I discipline my body and keep it under control, lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified. (1 Corinthians 9:24-27)

I’m reading someone else’s blog, and saw the above Scripture.

Paul says he did not box as one beating the air! You know, every single day, that’s exactly what I feel I am doing 😦

A horrible feeling 😦

I feel, every single day that whatever I do, it is all in vain. Empty. Forlorn, without usefulness. Yet, we are told this in Scripture:

Therefore, my dear brothers and sisters, stand firm. Let nothing move you. Always give yourselves fully to the work of the Lord, because you know that your labour in the Lord is not in vain. (1 Corinthians 15:58).

As long as any of us are doing work concerning the Lord, we do not work in vain. Today, I read the book of Jude. In it come stern warnings of those who pretend to work for God, but are yet empty vessels, “clouds without water”. These are apostates, who, rather than live in humility, live in every way unscriptural. A false way.

It is these who work in vain. Those who are for the Lord, whatever we do, however arduous it may seem; just be thankful that our names are written in heaven, and be reminded of this:

24 To him who is able to keep you from stumbling and to present you before his glorious presence without fault and with great joy— 25 to the only God our Saviour be glory, majesty, power and authority, through Jesus Christ our Lord, before all ages, now and forevermore! Amen. (Jude 24-25).

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Faithfulness, The love of God and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.