The madness of sin 5

“Come out of him”

As we progress through Deuteronomy 28, I have to wait on the Lord before I can do each section.

It’s only right.

This time, we are going to look at something very, very uncomfortable, and something I’ve had a little experience with. We are also going to see many other devastations that are occurring in the world today, seemingly mirrored from these verses, and what’s the devastation? Christians are also having to live in the middle of it all.

We are NOT cursed. But we DO have to sometimes live with the devastation some of these things cause. This was why, over the last few years, and me being very young in the faith, I’ve asked the Lord, time after time, “Am I under Your curse?” No, I’m not. How can a person blessed with deliverance from His wrath also be cursed by Him?

But it’s been a hard, hard time and much of it has been buried in the absolute devastation of things I’ve had to deal with. In one instance, where the Lord says “there will be no-one to help”, just see which pestilence it is where He gives that response.

I have cried out to the Lord about these things, trying to understand them, and what the next few verses say about all of this makes me fearful, and fear the Lord.

I’ve seen a change in circumstances now where He has brought deliverance, and I am getting a rest, but it brought a crisis for those who can, to get stuck in, and help me/us.

Now I know that God doesn’t need a crisis for Him to suddenly become interested, no, what I believe happened is that He wanted to show me what devastation sin causes, and what He has declared will happen to those who rebel against him. Rebellion isn’t pretty, neither is the resulting punishment, as we shall again see.

The madness of sin.

Unbelief

If we refuse to believe in what God has shown us, we are showing what God calls an evil heart of unbelief. (Hebrews 3:12). It’s serious, and it has no place in the life of a Christian. If we find it in our lives, we can only quickly, and I mean, very quickly, repent of it and continue to wait on the Lord.

Continuing, then, in Deuteronomy 28, from verse 17 onwards, we are about to see some dreadful curses listed:

Cursed shall be the fruit of your womb. I’ll leave you to think about that for yourselves, and look for evidence such as I have seen, and prayed over.

Fruit of the ground is also mentioned. For at least the last three years, if not longer. I’ve bought potatoes, and the blight that is in them makes them inedible. This is not normal, and I’m seeing more and more of it, as well as in other vegetables, on occasion.

The increase of your flocks: In fact, the very opposite will happen. Again, I’ve seen, even in my own country, whole flocks of lambs, save a few, wiped out by the weather, or disease. It’s happened, over the years, with other cattle here, too. What are we seeing in this? Is this chapter really coming back to disturb us? Since we have foisted upon ourselves the lack of wanting to be obedient to God; or to believe in Him, He, in turn comes back with utter devastation if we don’t repent.

Verse 19 is the complete opposite of verse 6. Cursed when you come in and go out.

Verses 20 and 21 are extreme. Frustration in all you undertake to do. This will end up in destruction of the people. In my own past four year struggle, I’ve prayed about this very thing, even praying the prayer of Abraham: Lord, will You wipe out the righteous with the wicked? Far be it from You to do such a thing! (Genesis 18:24, etc). But as it is written, it happens because of the evil of our doings (deeds). We see pestilence mentioned in verses 21 and 22. Never has this been more in evidence than it is now. In fact, I’m reading an extremely frightening, true story of the sickness of Ebola, how it is spread, and how it continues to spread. This virus has been in evidence in many places in the world already, along with its many derivitives. Everywhere we look, we see more evidence of pestilence, in people and in nature, and it’s getting worse as time goes by.

Verses 23 and 24 speak of drought. We see that everywhere in the world, more and more, these days.

So there’s already much to consider in what we’ve read, so far. Life, as described in this chapter, continues to look darker and more desperate the further we go into it. We cannot deny we are seeing many of these things in our day:

Verse 25: The Lord shall cause you to be defeated before your enemies.

Just read the news, folks, and consider what that might mean.

It isn’t much further on, until we get to the boils inflicted on people in verse 27. With that, I can think of various Scriptures that talk more about what’s coming on the world in these last days, and I’ve even seen news items that have made me consider various passages in Revelation, for instance.

Consider the next few verses, and see if we are not experiencing these things in our world today:

From verse 27: pestilences, as we’ve already mentioned. But it’s verses 28 and 29 that I particularly want to home in on today: The Lord will strike you with madness and blindness and confusion of mind…and there will be no-one to help you.

On of the major traumas in today’s society is the threat of serious disease. I have seen it myself, and what it does to a person if they get anything like what it describes in the Bible, here in this verse.

Consider what is termed in the world as ‘mental illness’. How many variations of this are there in the world today? And what normally happens when you have to deal with it? More often than not, it’s exactly what the Lord says here in verse 29: There will be no-one to help you.

If you look at any other serious disease, it’s more than likely there will be help offered. But NOBODY wants to have to deal with what’s called mental health. There ARE people who will consider researching it, and there ARE charities that will ask for funding to help them deal with it/find a cure.

Folks, there is no worldly cure for this. You might be able to damp it down a little, but you will never cure it.

I now encourage you to read this from a beloved Brother who is now with the Lord. What he says here makes every kind of spiritual sense.

It’s a long page, but will help people to discern how to handle these things Scripturally. In many instances, Christ called these things out of people. As today’s sub-title says: “Come out of him”. (Mark 1:25, and other Scriptures). In one instance, Jesus tells the evil spirit never to enter the person again whom He healed. (Mark 9:25).

So what do you think? Are we seeing some of these things mentioned in this devastating chapter again? We haven’t even begun to get to the end of this yet. When we’ve finished going through this chapter of Deuteronomy, we should then pair it up with other passages of Scripture to see what the Lord will do in the world when He pours out His wrath on it.

This important chapter is showing us the wrath of God against sin. We’d be wise to remind ourselves of it often.

Next time, we’ll study from verse 30.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Truth, Warning and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.