The madness of sin 2

Looking through Deuteronomy 28

In Romans 8, verse 28 tells us that all things work together for our good. With the trial I’ve been living through for the last four years, I’ve questioned that at every step of it.

I’ve sought help from many sources. The best thing I could have done would have been to have asked each person to stamp on my foot, rather than ask for their help. At least, I would have had a positive outcome: I would have got a bruised foot a few times. Not a great result, true, but it would have been a result.

Having gone into my fifth year of this particular trial – call it trauma if you like, I’ve read a few things, which has brought me to this series of the madness of sin. I see things, hopefully more clearly now, than I did over the last four years.

As I’ve read the news during this time, I’ve seen a great falling away from God. I know that’s what has brought us, especially in the West, to the dramatic state of affairs we find ourselves in today. Hosea 4 gives us a dramatic insight into what I believe has happened to us in our various nations. Sin has brought the very heavy hand of God upon us. We’re told elsewhere in the Scriptures that it’s a very terrifying thing for anyone to fall into the hands of God. That fact is made worse in that He is angry with the wicked every day.

If we don’t believe that, then read through Revelation and see what His hand of wrath is going to bring on the world.

Back to Deuteronomy 28. In the first instance, we see that God promises abundant blessings to whoever keeps His law. The curses that follow is an illustration of God reaching out to chastise, then offering people a chance to turn and repent/behave properly. If there’s no change, the next set of curses are listed, and so on until the end of the chapter. Of course, it isn’t just Deuteronomy 28 that teaches us how God reacts to sin in His people; the Bible expands greatly on this theme thereafter, where 12 men are selected. Six of them are to stand on one mountain and proclaim the blessings, six more are to stand on the other mountain and proclaim the curses. These 12 men are selected from the 12 tribes of Israel.

Having read through this far, I’ll now give you a list of Scriptures you should read before I write tomorrow’s post, the Lord being willing.

Obviously, we’ll begin again with Deuteronomy 28.
Then I’ll bring in Deuteronomy 11.
Hosea 4
Psalm 7, paying particular attention to verse 11.
Revelation 16.
Romans 8, paying particular attention to verse 28.

The next page will feature the opening of the Deuteronomy 28th chapter.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Judgement, Truth, Warning, Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

