The madness of sin

“I have not come to bring peace, but a sword.”

I remember writing some time ago as to why the word ‘sword’ might have the letter ‘w’ in it. Well, take the ‘s’ away, and you have ‘word’.

The word of God is living and powerful, and sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing even to the division of soul and spirit, and of joints and marrow, and is a discerner of the thoughts and intents of the heart. Hebrews 4:12.

So, you see what the word of God does – it discerns the thoughts and intents of the heart. Proverbs 4:23 reminds us: “Out of the heart come the issues of life”. Jesus warned: “Out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.” Luke 6:45. So, whatever is in the heart of someone will be revealed by their words, in other words, in what they say.

One saying goes: ‘actions speak louder than words’. In many cases, that’s probably true. Actions also cause confusion. Just read the news that’s been going on about the missing plane over the last week. There’s much postulation, but no answers yet as to what’s happened. We might be on the verge of another bombing attack for all we know.

The madness of sin.

In this series, I’ll be looking at a very frightening passage of Scripture. It’s made all the more frightening when I look at the state of the world we live in today. I want us to go through Deuteronomy 28. For those who may be interested, please read that chapter in readiness for the next part in this study.

If the Lord is willing, there’ll be more tomorrow.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Truth, Warning and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

