The fat pieces

When the Levite priests offered the burnt offerings; time after time, I noticed that the fat of the animal was to be burnt on the altar. I asked God: “What’s the significance of this, Lord?”

Isaiah 55, reading from the Expanded Bible gives a very enlightening piece of information:

Verses 1 & 2 give us an invitation to “Come, buy and eat, without money and without price!” Verse 2, says (Expanded version),

Why spend your money on something that is not real food [bread]?
Why work for something that doesn’t  really satisfy you?
Listen closely to me, and you will eat what is good;
your soul will enjoy [delight in] the rich food that satisfies [fat].

Rich food that satisfies!

In those far-off days of yore, the Lord announced that the burnt offerings, if done in the way He commanded, would be a sweet-smelling sacrifice to Him. The offerings, of which there were many types: to give thanks; for atonement; freewill offerings; and so on – the Lord would express His satisfaction with what was offered.

In this scene from Isaiah 55, God offers us the food that satisfies: His Word. Jesus called Himself the bread of life.

When He spoke to the woman at the well, He explained to her that if she drank the water He gave, she would never thirst again. Her reply? “Give me this water, to save me from having to keep returning to this well.” It’s all in John 4.

So, the significance of the fat offering is something that satisfies. If we take of the bread and the water of life, we abide in Christ, and He, in us. Nothing could satisfy us more.

Thank You, Father.

About tellthetruth1

The blog site is up and running. Please feel free to visit if you want to know the Lord. I treasure His Scriptures and pray you do, also. I've been a Christian since October 2009. The Lord saved me that month and has led me through many things in life. The one thing I adore Him for is bringing me the Light of Salvation and for forgiving me my wickedness.
This entry was posted in Faithfulness, Praise, Thanksgiving, The love of God and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

You are welcome to comment, but expletives will not be tolerated.

